Gokyo no Waza

The Gokyo no Waza (five sets of techniques) is the standard syllabus of Judo throwing techniques that originated in 1895 at the Jigoro Kano Kodokan in Tokyo, Japan. The Gokyo no Waza was made up of 40 throws in 5 groups as shown below.

Want to take your skills up a level? Learn the entire Gokyo.

Dai-ikkyo (Group1)

This is best set of throws for beginners and intermediate judoka.

Dai-nikyo (Group 2)

Dai-sankyo (Group 3)

Dai-yonkyo (Group 4)

Dai-gokyo (Group 5)